Research on Roald Dahl

 

We have been set a brief to devise a six word story that encapsulates the essence of a Roald Dahl tale of our choice. But before I could embark on this brief some research was required on Roald Dahl and his novels.

Although I studied my subjects in Welsh throughout primary and secondary school I came across Roald Dahl novels on numerous occasions either by reading them in Welsh translated versions, English books or by watching films like James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The Enormous Crocodile. After a more thorough look into his life and novels I have discovered many interesting facts and information about this great author, such as his life growing up in Llandaff and the surprising  fact that the child catcher in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang was his creation when he wrote the script for the film of the novel which was written by Ian Fleming. I noted all the information I came across in my sketch book and read over them frequently in an attempt to devise a story of my own in 6 words.

img_51821

After many hours looking through his iconic books and researching websites I decided to base my six word poster on Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory because, growing up, I read this book and watched the film with Gene Wilder playing  the character of  Willy Wonka. I feel this story means more to me personally than his other  works as it brought out my creative imagination as a young child and I loved  Wonka’s factory which was full of “pure imagination” which is something that  has got me to where I am today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

